Posted by: Martha Boston | March 30, 2011

ON WATCH – SOMEWHERE ALONG THE 27TH PARALLEL (by Martha)

BLAMMMMM! SHPPPTTTTTTRRRRRRRDDDDDDD.WHOOOOSHHHHH.THUDDDDDDD. Ohgeez it’s still blowing hard, the waves are still huge and coming from multiple directions, and whoever is on the helm is driving her hard. From my bunk in the forepeak it sounds like the boat is coming apart piece by piece. SCREEEEEEEEEEECCCCHHHHHHPOPOPOPOPOP. Dang, I hope Lightheart can survive this kind of sailing. For that matter, I hope I can.

BBBBBANNNGGGWHOOOSHSPLATTTT! Ouch! Okay, gotta get the rest of my gear on. Lurch upstairs for my watch. Phew, it’s chilly up here. CLINKKKKCLUNK. Clipped in now. Okay I can do this. Course is 085? Okay, so what else is new, we’ve been here for an eternity. Okay, got the wheel now. Ughhh, waves are as sloppy as they were on my last watch. OhNoOhNoOhNoOhNo —-SSSSPPPPPLLLLLLLSSSSSHHHHH! Okay, made it down that wave on the other side without pounding. Good. Time for a deep breath. Okay, settling down. Always takes me a few minutes to get in the groove, in the rhythm with the waves moving me offcourse. Is everybody this sloppy when they first take the wheel? Yeah I think so, everyone but Peter. He takes the helm and Lightheart just purrs “ahh there you are my beloved Master, what do you want me to do for you?” The rest of us just thrash our ways through it and eventually settle down to more or less on course.

WHAMMMMM! Damn, I couldn’t see that wave that just picked us up and slammed us down. I try to steer around them, with them, as much as I can, but it’s so bloody dark I can’t see anything. It’s like running full speed on a road you don’t know wearing a blindfold. PHLOOOOOSH! Ohgoody I felt that one coming and slid down it rather than it slamming us. Course? Oh forgot the course, oh there it is, 085. Of course. Bloody 085 up here on the 27th bloody parallel. When oh when can we ever turn south and catch the tradewinds? Maybe we should just decide right here and now that Cape Verde is our destination instead. BLAMMMM! Ugh, missed BLAMMMMM! both of those. Okay, course, back on course, got it. There it is, hard to hold in this slop. Need a star to steer by. Stars? Gajillions of them overhead, but every single one in front of us is obscured by a cloud. Cloud? Oh yeah, better look at those clouds for weather. Are they coming this way? Are they packing a punch, packing rain, packing a royal pain in the you-know-what? Phoo, I can’t read the stupid clouds. Master & Commander Peter can tell you pretty much what each one of them has up its sleeve, but I can’t. My specialty is West Texas tornado-producing clouds. Still haven’t learned these marine clouds, try as I might.

BLAMMMMM! PPPPHHHHHTTTTT! SHDDDDRRRRRRRR! Ohhhhh, that one was hard. Okay now, concentrateYoucandothisOkayOkayOkay. Upupupuupupup,angle off. Sliiiiiiide down, nice. Phew. Hey, a star! There’s a star for me to watch and steer by. Okay, now getting easier. Relaxxxxxxxx. Damn! What happened to my star? Okay, back to the compass. My wavy track is being recorded on the chartplotter…proof that I can’t steer the damn boat. Ijustcan’tdothis. Thisisjusttoohard. WhoeverthoughtIcoulddothisanyway. I feel like I’m all alone out here in the middle of the Atlantic f-ing Ocean. Amazing how much distance there can be within a 40-foot structure. GRRRRGGGGGLLLLLLLLL, SPLATTTT! Okay, that one’s not too bad. I can do this. What time is it? How much longer? Who’s up next? I don’t remember the order, don’t know who to wake up to take over. Hey, there’s a star again. Nice, line it up between the shrouds. Yeah, that works. Oh yeah, clouds. What about the clouds? Ah, no big deal, they’re dissipating. Wait a minute what’s that light on the horizon? Wow, it’s projecting a huge glow, must be a cruise ship. No, too big…and I can’t tell which way it’s moving. Ooooh, it’s getting closer for sure, cuz it’s getting bigger and brighter. Wait a minute, is it a town? On an island? They’re aren’t any islands out here. Are we that far off? No, can’t be, I checked our position before coming on watch. Wow, so bright, so orange.

BLAAAAMMMMMGURRRRRGGGGLLLLESSSSPLAAAAAAAATTT! Ugh, that one was hard enough to wake the dead. Oh yeah, speaking of waking, who’s up next? Wonder if they woke up? Look at that light now! Ohmygosh – it’s the moon! It’s Huge! And Orange! And gorgeous! I’ve never seen it like this until this trip. It’s been amazing every single night. I’m so glad I got to see it come up tonight. Tonight…oh yeah, what time is it? Who’s up next? Who do I call? Oh! Hi! You’re up?? Great. Course is 085. G’night.


Responses

  1. I’m going downstairs to eat some ginger to settle my stomach.

    And then go out into the Southern California sunshine for a run on dry land… : )

  2. I love your comic book language Martha! And although I know it must have been terrifying you somehow manage to make it sound incredibly thrilling too. Maybe because you are writing AFTER the event! You survived! Must be an intense feeling of achievement to have got through that. I can’t help grinning as I read it!

    Sending you loads of love and Light.
    Ginny x

  3. Well, cuz, this is very exciting stuff!! Thanks for the
    blow-by-blow description’ think I’ll check the moon &
    the stars tonite.
    Much love

    • Hey Lucy, great to hear from you. We still have a cabin waiting for you — in a nice still bay somewhere in the Caribbean. Would love you to come visit.
      Love
      Martha

  4. So glad you are safe and love roller coasters! I think I will drink some peppermint tea and calm my stomach and go look at the beautiful moon outside my house where the ground is stable.

  5. Wow! What an experience and such great description of this adventure. Thanks for sharing it. Look forward to sharing a sail with you both in calmer waters.

  6. Dear Martha and Peter,

    Wow. Seriously? People really do these things? Voluntarily?

    In honor of your ‘extraordinary’, I went out to our trampoline, and while jumping in an irregular rhythm, I had Gino and Sam (8 & 11 years old respectively) throw a bucket of water each onto me when I was looking the other way. I think I may have experienced something close to what you described. Except: I wasn’t tethered in! I wanted to take it one step further and throw caution to the wind, so to speak. Going for the gold. Kinda’ similar to what you described, don’t you think?!

    I am delighted to read about your adventures; so happy to have your unique perspectives and writing styles to savor; and even observing in myself a dollop of envy. You narratives combined are a sumptuous description of courage, stamina, endurance, resistance, surrender and oneness. You are both so marvelously descriptive, I felt myself thrown around, wet, cold, sore, dizzy and all the rest.

    Thanks for including us in your adventures. May the pure Light within you guide your way on.

    — Philip

    • Philip, you are a riot! I think you nailed it!
      Thanks for your great comments. You write beautifully.
      Hope to see you out here soon.
      Love & Light,
      Martha

  7. Geeze! What a crazy contrast to read your special effects, roaring roller coaster ride while sitting here in our office – calmly looking out at the swaying palms. I must say you are ‘one helluva gal’!! Love to read about your adventures…it’s wonderful to hear from you and Peter again. Have a grace filledl time – much love and Light to the upcoming wedding. We never made it to Austin…complications arose and we cancelled. We’ll be leaving for Dallas April 12th.
    God Bless…Lin

    • Thanks, Lin. It was a lot more than we bargained for, on every level. We didn’t know what we didn’t know. 11-1/2 days was a seriously LONG time! Now we’re in St. Martin, having a much more civilized experience. Hope all’s well with you. We’re missing our monthly gatherings. Lots of love to you and Larry.

  8. Flippin heck! I feel bruised and sea sick and that’s even with patches on. Martha, whens the novel coming out – descriptive to say the least. I’m loving your adventure, thanks.

    Every good wish for the wedding – hope you can stand up on dry land.

    Many blessing and much love to you both

    G-d bless
    Rena xoxox

  9. Different Day Different Ocean

    Dear Peter and Martha,

    We followed you ‘down island’ leaving Miami 9th of April. We went east on 25to 26N out to 66W. The biggest problem we had was keeping the boat moving in light air. At one point with a 2000sq ft spinnaker up we were going backwards in the current!

    We are in St Thomas with Dudley and Beka and heading for Bonaire in a few days time.

    I will be seeing how good Hanse boats are, I have a ride on a transatlantic race and the Fastnet on a new Hanse 53.

    Happy sailing Phil & Nell Kellett s/v Moon Dancer

    • Wow, that certainly WAS a different sailing experience! Hope you have a wonderful time in Bonaire – we’ve met several folks heading that way. We’ll most likely spend “the season” in Grenada and/or Trinidad. Best of luck on your races – we’ll love to hear how you experience the Hanse. At the Fastnet, keep a lookout for John Loden on Psipsina. He’s a friend of mine (Martha) and a great guy; and will likely be very competitive in the race. Fair winds!


Leave a comment

Categories